fly away

September 9, 2013

transfiguration

shake out rugs
vacuum
change the sheets…

Running a dustcloth along the

window ledge, I glimpse a movement.

In the soft morning light

a hummingbird hovers

and we gaze, face to face.

Weightless, he dances,

sipping nectar

before darting away in a

blur of wings, trailing

my list behind him

through the brightening air.

13 Responses to “fly away”

  1. Ajaytao2010 said

    Nice reading about you

    Thanks for visiting my blog. Be in touch. Browse through the category sections, I feel you may find something of your interest.

  2. Beautiful photo and poem. I read and liked what you wrote in response to being a bee at teacher as transformer’s site and wanted to stop by to meet you. Glad I did. Paulette

  3. Life interrupts living in ways which we can’t be alive to unless we see and hear the interruptions! Love the sense of interruption and change here as your list is literally torn up while you watch this fellow do his thing. I have felt this, and often have ignored the moment flying past me. I’m glad you had the wherewithal to catch this one!

    • Pam said

      It’s always a challenge to remain conscious of the good all around us, so often overlooked. I’m glad you stopped by and let me know what you’re thinking. Hope things have fallen into place in your life. It’s good to see you back writing your lovely, insightful verse.

      • It’s a bit of a time challenge, but I’m trying to write several when the mood strikes and archive them for the days when I don’t have the energy. It’s my happy place, so as long as I find it a tank-filler, I’d like to continue writing!

  4. Pam said

    Exactly – if it becomes another thing “to do”, the magic melts away. We all need our moments of peace to just be. Keep that tank full.

  5. gacochran said

    Thanks for visiting Along the Way. Love your poetry and look forward to reading more!

Leave a Reply

